Upgrade.chat charges 5.9% of every sale on its free plan, and its paid plans buy that rate down to 2.9% rather than to nothing. flatpass charges a flat monthly fee and takes none of the sale at any size. It is not the cheaper option everywhere: Under about $30.72 a month per member, Upgrade.chat's free plan is the cheaper one: 5.9% of a small enough number is less than $29, and our first paid tier starts at 16 paid members. The flat fee wins from about $492 a month in sales and keeps winning by more as you grow.
Upgrade.chat plans as published, read September 16, 2026.
A $100 sale on Upgrade.chat
→ your Stripe account · the cut shrinks on a paid plan, never to zero
A $100 sale on flatpass
→ your Stripe account · + your monthly plan, free to 15 members
flatpass fee: $0 per sale · flat monthly tiers from $0Neither platform holds your money, so the whole comparison is one percentage against one flat fee.
The honest version
Both platforms settle into your own Stripe account, so card processing is the same number on each side and cancels out. What differs is the shape of what's left. Every Upgrade.chat plan keeps a percentage — 5.9% free, down to 2.9% at $199 a month — and flatpass keeps none at any price. Under about $30.72 a month per member, Upgrade.chat's free plan is the cheaper one: 5.9% of a small enough number is less than $29, and our first paid tier starts at 16 paid members. The flat fee wins from about $492 a month in sales and keeps winning by more as you grow. At 200 paid members on a $35 membership the gap is $243 a month, and it only widens from there. Upgrade.chat plans as published, September 16, 2026.
Upgrade.chat's free plan takes 5.9% of every sale, and each paid plan buys the rate down rather than off — $19 a month for 4.9%, $49 a month for 3.9%, $199 a month for 2.9%. So the cheapest cut they sell still costs you $199 a month to get, and it is still a cut. flatpass charges a flat monthly fee and takes none of the sale at any size.
Under about $30.72 a month per member, Upgrade.chat's free plan is the cheaper one: 5.9% of a small enough number is less than $29, and our first paid tier starts at 16 paid members. The flat fee wins from about $492 a month in sales and keeps winning by more as you grow. Neither of us processes your cards, so none of that is a processing difference — it is a percentage against a flat fee, and the size of your server is what decides it.
Quite a lot, and it is worth knowing before you switch. Upgrade.chat gates Telegram channels as well as Discord on every plan and WhatsApp groups on its $199 one, takes PayPal and Venmo alongside Stripe, and sells a branded storefront from its $19 plan, themes and a custom domain from $49, and digital file delivery, a CRM and app integrations on its $199 one. flatpass does one thing: paid roles in Discord servers, on Stripe. If you need a storefront or a second chat platform, Upgrade.chat has them and flatpass does not.
Move the slider to your own size, then read the ladder underneath. Neither platform processes your cards, so your own Stripe rate applies on both sides.
Complete bill — each platform’s card processing included at its own rate; Stripe’s US rate on ours. 300 paid members at $35 is about $10,500/month in sales.
| Paid members | flatpass | Upgrade.chat | Cheaper, and by |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15$525 a month in sales | $0free plan | $31Free plan | flatpassby $31 a month |
| 16$560 a month in sales | $29a month | $33Free plan | flatpassby $4 a month |
| 50$1,750 a month in sales | $29a month | $103Free plan | flatpassby $74 a month |
| 80$2,800 a month in sales | $29a month | $156Pro plan | flatpassby $127 a month |
| 200$7,000 a month in sales | $79a month | $322VIP plan | flatpassby $243 a month |
| 500$17,500 a month in sales | $149a month | $707Max plan | flatpassby $558 a month |
| 1,000$35,000 a month in sales | $399a month | $1,214Max plan | flatpassby $815 a month |
| 2,500$87,500 a month in sales | $399a month | $2,737Max plan | flatpassby $2,338 a month |
Modelled on a $35 membership, which is what turns a member count into the sales volume Upgrade.chat's percentage is charged on; their plan on each row is the cheapest one their subscriber caps allow at that size. Card processing is excluded from both columns because it is identical on both sides — Stripe's own rate on your own account, 2.9% + $0.30 at the US card rate modelled here, and yours may differ. flatpass meters active paid members summed across every server you run.
Upgrade.chat's plans — Free $0 + 5.9% to 500 · Pro $19 + 4.9% to 1,000 · VIP $49 + 3.9% to 2,500 · Max $199 + 2.9%, with the same four sold as one-time purchases — read on upgrade.chat’s pricing page, September 16, 2026. That both platforms run on the seller’s own processor is from its “how it works” page, whose third step is to connect your Stripe and PayPal so deposits land directly in your bank account. flatpass connects a Stripe Connect Standard account, which you authorize and revoke from your own Stripe dashboard. flatpass’s rungs are the ladder every page on this site renders — see pricing.
Including the rows where Upgrade.chat has things flatpass doesn't.
| flatpass | Upgrade.chat | |
|---|---|---|
| Cut of your sales | 0% on every plan, including free | 5.9% / 4.9% / 3.9% / 2.9% by plan — never 0% |
| What you pay us | $0 up to 15 · $29 up to 80 · $79 up to 200 · $149 up to 750 · $399 unlimited | Free $0 + 5.9% to 500 · Pro $19 + 4.9% to 1,000 · VIP $49 + 3.9% to 2,500 · Max $199 + 2.9% |
| What you're metered on | Active paid members, summed across every server you run | Subscribers, capped per plan |
| Where the money lands | Your own Stripe account — Connect Standard, revocable from your dashboard | Your own Stripe and PayPal — daily deposits to your bank |
| Free plan ceiling | 15 paid members, every feature | 500 subscribers, at 5.9% |
| One-time pricing | None — monthly only, cancel anytime | Lifetime plans at $499 / $799 / $1,799 |
| Platforms gated | Discord | Discord and Telegram on every plan; WhatsApp on the $199 plan |
| The address members land on | flatpass.io/invite/your-server-name — built from your server’s name, and once a tier is live we list it for the search engines to find | upgrade.chat/<your Discord server’s 19-digit id>; a custom domain is on the $49 plan and up |
| Where your members came from | First-party invite analytics on every link | Referral dashboard; visit-level sources not stated on its pricing page |
| What the other one has that this one doesn't | No storefront, no file delivery, no PayPal, no Telegram or WhatsApp | PayPal and Venmo and a referral program on every plan; a branded storefront from $19; themes and a custom domain from $49; WhatsApp, digital file delivery, a CRM and app integrations at $199 |
Upgrade.chat pricing and features as published, September 16, 2026 — sources above. “Not stated” means the figure is absent from the page, not that the feature is missing. Their plans differ on the rate, the subscriber cap and a feature matrix — a branded storefront from the $19 plan, themes and a custom domain from $49, WhatsApp and the CRM at $199. On the same date their sitemap.xml listed no storefront pages at all, where flatpass's sitemap carries every invite page that has a live tier. Every platform’s published rates, each with its own date: Discord monetization fees by platform →
Weighing one of the others? flatpass vs Whop, vs LaunchPass and vs Subscord run the same comparison against a 3% cut, a base-plus-3.5%, and the one competitor priced in tiers like ours.
The checkout is the last thing between interest and a subscription. On every platform it wears somebody's brand.
You've been invited to join
Monitors, early links, and release guides for sneaker drops.
Renews monthly until cancelled
Payments are securely processed by
A live preview, not a screenshot — this is the component your members get
On Upgrade.chat
On flatpass
The page observed sold a $400 one-time membership beside a $30-a-month one, and that is a real gap rather than a styling one: flatpass sells subscriptions and nothing else, so a lifetime tier is not something it can price at all. Upgrade.chat also sells storefront themes and a custom domain on its $49 plan, which is more control over the page than flatpass offers at any price.
Competitor chrome described from a live Upgrade.chat storefront viewed September 16, 2026, not reproduced. Layouts change; re-check before citing this later.
Your subscriptions already bill inside your own Stripe. Both bots can hold the same server while you change over.
Step 1 · ~10 min
Install the bot, pick your country, and finish the authorization on Stripe's own onboarding screens. It is the same Stripe account Upgrade.chat already deposits into, and none of the ID or bank details pass through flatpass.
Step 2 · ~5 min
Point flatpass at the Discord role your paying members already hold and set your price. Your invite page builds itself. Nothing about the existing role changes, so nobody loses access while you do it.
Step 3 · ongoing
Send new members to your flatpass invite page and let the subscriptions Upgrade.chat created keep billing until they lapse or you move them. Both bots can hold the same server at once, and nobody has to re-enter a card. Cancel the Upgrade.chat plan when the last one is gone.
No. Every Upgrade.chat plan charges a percentage of each sale — 5.9% on Free, 4.9% on Pro, 3.9% on VIP, 2.9% on Max — and what the paid plans buy is a smaller cut, not the absence of one. The cheapest rate they sell is 2.9% and it costs $199 a month (or $1,799 once). flatpass takes 0% on every plan including the free one, which is the whole difference between the two price shapes: one bill grows with your sales and the other doesn't.
Above about $492 a month in sales, yes, and the gap widens from there — at 200 paid members on a $35 membership it is $243 a month, at 1,000 it is $815. Below that volume, no. Under about $30.72 a month per member, Upgrade.chat's free plan is the cheaper one: 5.9% of a small enough number is less than $29, and our first paid tier starts at 16 paid members. The flat fee wins from about $492 a month in sales and keeps winning by more as you grow. Card processing is in none of those numbers: both platforms run on your own Stripe account, so it is the same figure on each side and cancels out. The size-by-size table is above, and every platform's published rates, each with its own date, are on the fee dataset.
Yes, and it is why this comparison is short. Upgrade.chat's own "how it works" tells you to connect your Stripe and PayPal so deposits land directly in your bank account, and flatpass connects a Stripe Connect Standard account the same way. Neither platform holds your money. So at any volume both of you pay Stripe the identical rate on the identical number of transactions, it cancels out of the comparison, and what is left is their percentage against our flat fee.
Yes, and nothing has to be migrated, because nothing was ever held anywhere else — the subscriptions Upgrade.chat created bill inside your own Stripe account. Add flatpass, authorize Stripe, recreate your tiers on the Discord roles you already use, and point new members at your flatpass invite page. Existing members keep renewing through Upgrade.chat until they lapse or you move them, and you can leave both installed while that happens. Nobody has to re-enter a card.
Quite a lot, and it is worth knowing before you switch. Upgrade.chat gates Telegram channels as well as Discord on every plan and WhatsApp groups on its $199 one, takes PayPal and Venmo alongside Stripe, and sells a branded storefront from its $19 plan, themes and a custom domain from $49, and digital file delivery, a CRM and app integrations on its $199 one. flatpass does one thing: paid roles in Discord servers, on Stripe. If you need a storefront or a second chat platform, Upgrade.chat has them and flatpass does not.
Free up to 15 paid members · No setup fee · Cancel anytime